Supplementary election to hold in 15 states

Spread the love

The National Assembly elections will tomorrow be repeated in eight senatorial districts and 33 federal Constituencies spread across 15 states.

According to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the supplementary poll to the 41 National Assembly seats, will be conducted alongside the governorship and House or Assembly elections.

The Senatorial election did not hold in Enugu East Senatorial District following the death of Labour Party’s (LP’s) candidate few days to the February 25 election. There was also no election in Esan Central/Esan West/Igueben Federal Constituency in Edo State as a result of the omission of the logo of one of the parties.

But in Sokoto State, the National Assembly election was suspended three Senatorial Districts and 11 Federal Constituencies. The electoral umpire fixed the supplementary election in the zone and constituencies for tomorrow.

The rescheduled elections in Sokoto and 14 other states hold alongside the state elections tomorrow.

The states where Senatorial elections will hold are:  Enugu East (Enugu); Kebbi North (Kebbi); Plateau Central (Plateau); Yobe South (Yobe); Zamfara Central (Zamfara) and Sokoto East, North and South (Sokoto.

The repeat election will hold in two Federal Constituencies in Akwa Ibom (Abak/Etim Ekpo/Ika and Ikono/Ini); Edo (Esan Central/Esan West/Igueben and Orhionmwon/Uhunmwode); Imo (Ikeduru/Mbaitoli and Isu/Njaba/Nkwere/Nwangele); Kano (Doguwa/Tudun Wada and Fagge); Kebbi (Arewa/Dandi and Koko/Besse/Maiyoma); Oyo (Ibadan Northeast/Ibadan Southeast and Oluyole); Rivers (Gokana/Khana and Port Harcourt II) as well as Zamfara (Gummi/Bukkuyum and Gusau/Tsafe).

The poll will also hold in one federal constituency in Taraba (Takum/Donga/Ussa); Kogi (Bassa/Dekina); Jigawa (Gumel/Maigatari/Sule Tankarkar/Gagarawa); Ebonyi (Ezza North/Ishielu); Bayelsa (Southern Ijaw) and Anambra (Igbaru).

Although House Leader, Alhassan Ado Doguwa was initially declared winner of the Doguwa/Tudun Wada Federal Constituency, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) withdrew the announcement saying the results were declared under duress.