Sanwo-Olu floors Rhodes-Vivour wins Lagos governorship election

Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos has won the Lagos governorship re-election.

Mr Sanwo-Olu, 57, was declared winner of the March 18 exercise by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday morning at the commission’s collation centre in Yaba, Lagos.
Adenike Oladiji, the state collation officer, announced the result of All Progressives Congress candidate and 15 other participants in Lagos at about 1:00 a.m.

Mr Sanwo-Olu won 19 local government areas with 762,134 votes to defeat his closest challenger Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party, who won one local government area with 312,329 votes.
Mr Olajide “Jandor” Adediran of the Peoples Democratic Party, who came third in the poll, scored 62,449 votes.
Mr Sanwo-Olu has been re-elected as the governor of Lagos state after results were collated in 20 LGAs in the state.
The 19 LGAs won by Mr Sanwo-Olu include Apapa, Ikeja, Somolu, Eti-Osa, Oshodi-Isolo, Kosofe, Ojo, Badagry, Epe, Alimosho, Ajeromi-Ifelodun, Lagos Mainland, Lagos Island, Ifako-Ijaiye, Ikorodu, Agege, Ibeju-Lekki, Surulere and Mushin.
Mr Rhodes-Vivour won Amuwo-Odofin.
The number of permanent voters cards (PVCs) collected was 6,214,970, while registered voters stood at 7,060,195.
Lagos, which is a stronghold of the ruling party, was lost during the presidential elections held on February 25, with Labour’s Peter Obi defeating APC’s Bola Tinubu, who went on to later be declared winner of the controversial election.

Related Articles